Canalblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog
Publicité
Kriegspiel!
Archives
3 octobre 2009

[AAR] Pyrrhus à Clichy- samedi/ Pyrrhus in Clichy

Last week-end I was in Clichy, attending an antic-medieval tournament, Art de la guerre. We were 12, everyone with an antic army. I played two games on saturday.

My first battle was against Michel Acloque and his Sassanid Army, full of elefants and cataphracts. Damn. the first game for my pyrrhic army and I must confront a very powerful army. anyway. I gain the intiative and i choose to fight in the mountains, with brushes and step hills... to try to amper down his mobility...


Pour ma première bataille à Clichy, je rencontre Michel Acloque et ses Sassanides, bourrés d'unités élite. J'essaie de truffer le terrain d'obstacles.

Photo_241

Tha Sassanids are on the left: The elefants and his poor infantry are on his left flank, the elite clibanari on the center, and the cataphracts on his right.
So, I choose to rush to his left flank with my infatry and elefants, and to refuse my left flank with the phalanxes.


il déploie ses éléphants indiens et son infanterie sur sa gauche (ce sera ma cible); ses cavalerie lourde arc élite au centre, et ses cataphractes sur son flanc droit.

Photo_243
The pyrrhic army, ready for battle.
Pyrrhus prêt à se battre

Photo_245
the Sassanids, ready to go to war...

Photo_246

I have the initiative and move first, right at his throat... with my medium foot. The Phalanx  is forming up on my left, ready to counter the cavalry threat.

J'obtiens l'initiative et je fonce vers l'infanterie ennemie avec mes Bruttiens et mes éléphants, tandis que je refuse mon flanc gauche avec ma phalange médiocre.


Photo_247

The Bruttians deploy to outflank the ennemy elefants...
Je me déploie pour flanquer le corps sassanide.


Photo_248


I'm in a very good position on his left... But my light cavalry won't be able to stop the mounted archers and clibanari...
Je maîtrise mal mon armée, et je laisse un trou se former: ma cavalerie légère sera incapable de tenir face à toute cette cavalerie adverse.


Photo_249


The cataphracts charge the phalanx. And I make a big mistake: My reserve cavalry, which was int he center, is sent on my left flank to attack the flanks of the cataphracts, leaving a forming gap in the center...

Michel lance ses charges; je tiens mais j'exploite très mal: j'ai une réserve de cavalerie mais je l'envoie du mauvais côté: j'aurais dû l'envoyer au centre...


Photo_250


Meanwhile, despite my superiority, I don't have the upper hand in the melee ...

Le pire est que malgré ma supériorité, je ne le détruis pas assez vite sur sa gauche. Résultat, défaite logique 23 points à 14. Snif.

So... How did my first game went? I managed to destroy 14 points of the Sassanid army (which demoralized at 20). But at the same time, the cataphracts destroyed a part of my phalanx, and his cavalry flanked my medium foot, because of my mistake, their flank was unprotected... So, it's a logical loss.


Second game: Christophe Molière and his Arménians, with a hun ally... Very cool guy, and very fun game.

Deuxième partie, je joue contre Christophe Molière et ses Arméniens: c'est un mec super sympa, on s'est bien amusé.

Photo_254
Pauvre Christophe, si tu savais ce qui t'attends...

Once again, I have the initiative. His cataphracts are on his right, the Huns in the center, and, between a steep hill and brush, his infantry, some catafracts and his baggage... They will be my goal, because my elefants and infantry LOVE to fight in the brushes ^^.

Le choix du terrain m'est encore favorable. Le terrain est compartimenté de son côté, avec une colline escarpée. De plus, sur mon flanc droit, deux broussailles. Chic. Et deuxième effet kiss-cool, il place ses bagages et son corps d'infanterie dans ce petit espace. Yes! Il est coincé, et je vais lancer mon infanterie et mes babars dessus. Ma phalange couvrira mon flanc gauche comme auparavant.

Photo_255

Once again, I rush towards the "weak" Armenian corps, while the phalanx is deploying to protect my left flank.


Photo_258


Cette fois-ci je ne fais l'erreur de laisser les piquiers loin derrière, et je maintiens systématiquement la pression, empêchant Christophe de manoeuvrer...

Photo_259


The Huns try to désorganise the pikemen...
Il me balance quelques tirs, amis c'est insuffisant, et ma cavalerie veille à l'arrière en cas de trou...


Photo_260


Blood! Blood! Blood!

Pendant ce temps, on s'étripe joyeusement... Et on s'envoie des mots fleuris...


Photo_261


Hey! Where are the Armenians?

Dois-je ajouter un commentaire? la supériorité a joué en ma faveur cette fois-ci.


Photo_262

As you can see, I pressed forward with my phalnx to avoid beeing outmanoeuvered; my cavalry stayed in the center to act as a reserve, which payed off: the result was a victory. The Armenians routed, and their catafracts never charged (phew). I lost 16 points from 23. It was a great game. i had a real feeling for  my army.

Photo finale: ma phalange a bien avancé, empêchant les manoeuvres arméniennes, d'autant plus que leur commandement n'est pas terrible. Bref, belle victoire, mais à la Pyrrhus (normal) car j'ai perdu 16 points.


Christophe: anytime for the rematch.
Christophe, quand tu veux pour la revanche.


The army's philosphy/ conception de l'armée

I wanted a choc based army, to press forward and suppress the ennemy's abitlity to manoeuver. So I chose an army with good commanders, and fast infantry units.

Je voulais une armée basée sur le choc et la rapidité, pour empêcher l'adversaire de manoeuvrer.

- The first corps has
8 poor phalanxes, to refuse a flank against cavalry armies, or to get cheap but powerful units if in deep formations
2 elite impact cavalry and 1 medium cavalry, to act as a reserve.

1er corps:
8 phalanges médiocres, pour former une lognue ligne anti-cav, ou bien avoir de belles unités puissantes en ordre profond
2 cavaleries impact élite et 1 cavalerie moyenne, pour jouer en réserve

- The 2nd corps:
2 medium spearmen,
1 psiloi
1 elefant
2 light horses with javelin.
Its purpose is to act as a liaison between 1st and 3rd corps, and to add some melee power in case of need.

2e corps:
2 lanciers moyens
1 psiloi
1 éléphant
2 Lh avec javelot
C'est un corps de liaison entre le 1er et le 3e corps.

- 3rd corps:
2 medium elite infantry
2 medium infantry
1 psiloi
1 elefant
it's the "fast" attack corps, whose purpose is to rush towards the weak point of the ennemy, using terrain to do so. the elite units and the elefant also give some staying power in flat terrain.

3e corps:
2 MI élite
2 MI
1 psiloi
1 éléphant
C'est le corps d'attaque rapide, qui doit foncer sur le point faible adverse, en utilisant le terrain. Les élite et l'éléphant ont également suffisamment de puissance pour combattre en terrain découvert.

Publicité
Commentaires
Kriegspiel!
Publicité
Derniers commentaires
Publicité